About us

Through her volunteer work at Stone Soup, Judy Hecht noticed it was difficult for people from south Corvallis to get to food services that were mostly available on the north side of town. She was especially concerned that families with small children in the south Corvallis area were underserved and going hungry. To address these concerns, she opened the South Corvallis Food Bank (SCFB) in January 2001, on Tunison Street in South Corvallis. For the first few years, the food bank was known as Tunison Food Bank. At first, the food bank served approximately 20 to 25 families monthly. Now over 600 families visit the food bank each month, and food is provided for over 2,000 individuals each month.  South Corvallis Food Bank distributes more than 35,000 pounds of food each month.

The SCFB distributes food obtained from FEMA and USDA funding, the Oregon Food Bank, Linn-Benton Food Share, and from local donations. SCFB works with the Mary's River Gleaners and SAGE (youth garden project), and partners with local churches, organizations, restaurants, and grocery stores to deliver a consistent supply of food and other essentials, such as toiletries and cleaning supplies. There is also an area of clothing donations and some household items available at the food bank.

A dedicated group of volunteers runs the food bank; taking in donations, accepting and picking up food deliveries, staffing the food bank during open hours, writing grants, fundraising, and doing other activities as needed. 

The South Corvallis Food Bank serves residents of Corvallis.  For residents from other areas, please see the page "Other Emergency Food Sites" to find food pantries and meal programs nearer your home. If we are the most convenient pantry for you, you are welcome no matter where you live.

We are an equal opportunity provider. For full USDA Non-Discrimination statement, click here.

Board of Directors 2023-2024            

Sheila O'Keefe Executive Director

Cathy Zollinger Assistant Executive Director

Paul Schlegelmann President

Jill Mackey-Feist Vice President

Linda Samuels Treasurer

Nancy Gill Assistant Treasurer 

Carol Schuler Secretary

Sophie Fisher Board Member

Inez Ribera Board Member

Corinne Butzin Board Member